AXR Cadillac wins wild 12 Hours of Sebring – EAST AUTO NEWS

AXR Cadillac wins wild 12 Hours of Sebring

A giant crash whereas the leaders have been making an attempt to navigate visitors within the closing stage of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring took out the highest three GTP vehicles in addition to a number of GT vehicles, and produced a shock winner that ought to have been no shock.

When all of it shook out, the polesitting No. 31 Motion Specific Racing Cadillac V-Sequence.R of Pipo Derani, Alexander Sims and Jack Aitken — Aitken on the wheel for the end — gained the Twelve Hours of Sebring, with the No. 25 BMW M Workforce RLL M Hybrid V8 of Nick Yelloly, Connor De Phillippi and Sheldon van der Linde ending second. The LMP2 winner, the No. 8 Tower Motorsports ORECA of John Farano, Kyffin Simpson and Scott McLaughlin, completed third total.

The No. 6 Porsche Penske Motorsports squad of Mathieu Jaminet, Nick Tandy and Dane Cameron completed third in GTP whereas their wrecked heap of a 963 was carried on a flatbed again to the Penske transporter.

With a number of late race yellows, a combat to the end was arrange with the highest 5 GTP vehicles on the lead lap all stuffed with gasoline and with recent tires. Jaminet led Filipe Albuquerque within the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Autosport Acura ARX-06 with Jaminet’s teammate Felipe Nasr’s No. 7 PPM 963 in third. As Jaminet hit visitors in Flip 1, Albuquerque attacked and went inside. However as Jaminet was making an attempt to navigate a pack of GT vehicles, he moved left, Albuquerque went off monitor, misplaced management and slid via the within of Flip 3 and hit Jaminet’s Porsche on the opposite facet of the apex. Nasr was subsequent on the scene, hit the Acura, after which the No. 6. All three vehicles have been completed, and Aitken sailed via for the victory.

All of the late yellows additionally allowed a number of GTD and GTD PRO vehicles to go far farther on gasoline than they’d have been in a position to in any other case, the highest vehicles in each courses operating round an hour and 50 minutes from their final pit cease to the end. It was the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Patrick Pilet, Klaus Bachler and Laurens Vanthoor successful GTD PRO, and the No. 1 BMW squad of Madison Snow, Bryan Sellers and Corey Lewis claiming GTD for Paul Miller Racing.

One of many late-race incidents ended the LMP3 battle between the No. 74 Riley Motorsports Ligier and the No. 30 Jr III Racing Ligier. Shortly after a restart for the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura dropping a wheel, Pietro Fittipaldi went astray and hit the tires. A wheel from Fittipaldi’s No. 51 Rick Ware Racing ORECA LMP2 bounced throughout monitor – whether or not that was the trigger or the results of the crash is unknown. Fraga within the No. 74 averted it, Grist within the No. 30 hit it sq. on because it fell from the sky. That left Fraga a lap within the lead within the automotive he shared with Gar Robinson and Josh Burdon, in a position to cruise to victory.

Full reviews to comply with.


AXR Cadillac wins wild 12 Hours of Sebring – EAST AUTO NEWS


To Top